Nominations to hold Positions of Responsibility throughout 2021-2022

Party nominating officers are be invited to nominate Members to hold the following Positions of Responsibility, as listed for 2020-2021 in accordance with Schedule 1 of the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 2014

Positions of Responsibility	Party	Councillor
Council Chair	DUP	
Council, Deputy Chair	SDLP	
Audit Committee, Chair	UUP	
Audit Committee, Deputy Chair	SF	
Development, Chair	SF	
Development, Deputy Chair	IND (Kerr)	
Environment Committee, Chair	DUP	
Environment Committee Deputy Chair	SF	
Planning Committee, Chair	DUP	
Planning Committee, Deputy Chair	SF	
Policy & Resources, Chair	UUP	
Policy & Resources, Deputy Chair	SDLP	
Housing Council for NI	SF	
Partnership Panel for NI (term of Council)	SDLP	Councillor Hughes
Reserve & Cadets Association for NI	DUP	
Policing & Community Safety Partnership	SF	Councillor Mallaghan
(term of Council)	SF	Councillor B McGuigan
	SF	Councillor McNamee
	SF	Councillor S McPeake
	SF	Councillor D Molloy
	DUP	Councillor Burton
	DUP	Councillor Cuthbertson
	DUP	Councillor Forde
	SDLP	Councillor McFlynn
	UUP	Councillor McKinney

Mid Ulster District Council Positions of Responsibility Allocated

Party Nominating Officers at the Council AGM of 20th May 2019 selected the positions of responsibility for the periods as shown and then fill positions using the default method (d'hondt) for filling positions of responsibility in accordance with Schedule 1 of the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 2014 (see note 1). There are 67 Positions of Responsibility, as defined by the 2014 Act.

	Year 1 2019/2020	Year 2 2020/2021	Year 3 2021/2022	Year 4 2022/2023	
Council					
Chair	SDLP	SF	DUP	SF	
Deputy-Chair	DUP	UUP	SDLP	DUP	
Audit Committee					
Chair	SF	SF	UUP	SF	
Deputy-Chair	UUP	SF	SF	SF	
Development Comm	nittee				
Chair	UUP	SF	SF	SF	
Deputy-Chair	IND (Monteith)	DUP	IND (Kerr)	DUP	
Environment Comm	ittee				
Chair	DUP	SF	DUP	SF	
Deputy-Chair	SF	SDLP	SF	UUP	
Planning Committee					
Chair	SF	SF	DUP	SF	
Deputy-Chair	DUP	UUP	SF	DUP	
Policy & Resources (Committee				
Chair	SF	SDLP	UUP	SDLP	
Deputy-Chair	SDLP	UUP	SDLP	DUP	
Housing Council for	NI (Note 2)				
1 Representative	SF	SF	SF	SF	
Partnership Panel fo	or NI				
1 Representative	SDLP				
4 year term					
Reserve Forces & Ca	dets Association for	· NI			
1 Representative	UUP	DUP	DUP	UUP	
Policing & Communi	ity Safety Partnershi	ip - Mid Ulster (Note	e 3)		
10 Representatives	SF DUP				
4 year term	SF	DUP DUP			
	SF				
	SF	SDLP			
	SF	F UUP			

Note 1: Role of the Annual Meeting

Schedule 1 of the Local Government Act 2014 confirms the role of the annual meeting. It confirms that each party nominating officer should select a position of responsibility and term for which it may be held. Where the nominating officer selects the term beginning with the date of the meeting (the annual meeting) the nominating officer must also nominate the person to hold the selected position of responsibility, who stood in the name of the nominating officer's party when elected. At subsequent annual meetings (i.e. for 2020-21, 2021-22 and 2022-2023) each nominating officer must select members for the next term for each position selected at the first annual meeting.

Note 2 : Housing Council for NI

Schedule 2 of the Housing (Northern Ireland) Order 1981 confirms that the Housing Council shall consist of the chairman of each district council. Schedule 2 to the legislation also indicates that a district council may at any time appoint one of its members as a member of the Housing Council in place of the council chairman as referred to.

Note 3: Policing & Community Safety Partnership (PCSP)

Schedule 1 to the Justice Act provides that a council, in exercising its power to appoint political members to PCSPs, shall ensure, so far as is practicable, that the political members reflect the balance of parties prevailing among members of the council immediately after the last local election.

Applying the default method for *Filling Positions of Responsibility* (d'Hondt) to calculate the balance of the parties after the 2019 local election the party allocation, based on 10 elected members being represented on the Partnership, is:

SF	5
DUP	3
SDLP	1
UUP	1